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Wednesday, December 29, 2010

NJ Computer Doctors Newest Website Design Client



NJ Computer Doctors is proud to announce the launch of DJ Don and Puttin' On The Hits! is committed to providing top quality service. Your satisfaction is our number one goal! We are available for Weddings, Graduations, Summer bbq's, Holiday Parties and more! We are happy to perform at charity events and legitimate fundraiser benefits. Providing music, private and bar/club karaoke, games and activities and party favors! Since 1987!

With Puttin' on the Hits!, you'll get what you want: fun, entertaining, professional DJ's, and the comfort of knowing your party is in the best of hands.

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The Fundamentals of SEO

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

You hear the term often these days, “SEO”, but what exactly is SEO? SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization and it refers to several different practices and techniques to get a web site to show up in search engines. There are some very fundamental concepts that I will go over in this article for those that would like to know.

Clean Code
First off, it is always important to make sure your website is coded correctly and cleanly. Make sure that there are no errors in your HTML code, avoid overly nested tables, and keep it simple. A page loaded with scattered JavaScript, sloppy HTML, and tables within tables within tables are a nightmare to search engines when they try to crawl your site. Try to use CSS and DIV tags as much as possible and avoid too many tables. Try to keep flash movies to a minimum, and never ever make flash only websites as flash files don’t get crawled.

Content Content Content
If you don’t put lots of juicy text content in your website, then search engine crawlers will not find much to write home about. When you choose your keywords and key phrases, don’t just make a few meta tags and call it a day. It’s important to put relevant text content and links in your website using those keywords as well. Then when a crawler indexes your website, it will see all your text, links and headers that are relevant to your subject matter and rank you higher in results.

Links Links Links
Links are a very important part of SEO. First off, it’s important to have internal links through your site using your keywords and key phrases. It’s also important to get external links to your site using your keywords. There are many ways to do this, such as link exchanging, writing articles on article directories, blogging, forum posting and promoting via social networking sites.

These are just a few fundamental tips on how to properly optimize your web site. For these and other SEO Services, contact NJ Computer Doctors for more information.

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Debunking the Top 10 Search Engine Myths

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

New Jersey Computer Doctors
We've all done it at some point in our professional lives. We search a keyword that describes our business only to scratch our head as to how our competitor's website shows up on the top of the líst instead of ours. If you've gone one step further and read about Search Engine Optimization, then surely you have come across the conflicting information online.

One article tells you to do one thing while another tells you to do the opposite. Which one should you believe?

This gray area of what you should or should not do is much like the modern day "Bat Cave." If you are lucky enough to stumble upon it, chances are you don't quite know how you got there and if you had to go back one day you would probably just find yourself lost in the woods.

So what should you believe? The general rule is to combine what you read or heard with what you have experienced and somewhere in there lies the truth. To get you started, let's debunk some of the more commonly used myths floating around.

1) Use a Keyword Rich Domain Name:

It is widely believed that if you include your keywords in your domain name like www.professional-website-design-in-nj.com it will greatly improve your rankings. This is not true. It is best to choose a domain name that is short, easy to remember and if possible includes your company name.

2) Google Partnership:

If you are ever approached by a company claiming to have a partnership with Google, run in the opposite direction. There is no such thing as a "preferred" relationship with Google and in fact on Google's website it even states: Beware of SEOs that claim to guarantee rankings, allege a "special relationship" with Google, or advertise a "priority submit" to Google.

3) Meta Keyword Tag:

It used to be that the Meta Keyword Tag was given a lot of weight in the early days of Search Engine Optimization, but people abused it and now it does very little. You may still want to include your keywords here, but know that it will not do much and in fact most search engines won't even check it.

4) Bold or Italicized Text:

Adding emphasis to certain keywords like using bold or italics can make your text easier to scan for the reader if done properly, but has little to no effect on your search engine ranking.

5) Content Length:

There is no search engine rule stating that your content needs to be a specific number of words in order to get indexed. Any recommended length is more to assist the reader in understanding what you do than to aid the search engines.

6) Duplicate Content:

Posting specific content like an article or blog entry on your site and then on another site will not get you penalized. In the search results, Google will recognize that the content is the same and only choose one of the pages to display, but it will not hurt your overall search engine ranking.

7) Avoid Flash:

Any text that you place in Flash will not be readable by a search engine, but this doesn't mean you have to avoid flash altogether. You can still very successfully incorporate Flash into your site through rotating pictures or a header on the page. Just don't have an all Flash site or use a Flash intro if you are interested in increasing your search engine rankings.

8) Pay-Per-Click:

Some say that using Pay-Per-Click will help your organic listing while others say it will hurt. Both are false. The fact is that Google has gone to great lengths to separate the two departments of organic and paid listings to a point where the two departments don't communicate or even sit at the same table for lunch.

9) Update the Site Frequently:

Updating your site often is a good idea if you have something new to say. Just don't change around a few words to accommodate the search engines as that won't help your listing at all. Regularly adding legitimate content like articles, press releases and blog entries will help though.

10) Doorway Pages:

Many companies will sell this idea of increasing your ranking by creating hundreds of one page sites loaded with keywords that link to you from various domains. This is considered spamming the search engine and is not recommended. If you properly optimize your site and focus on the correct way to get listed, you will improve your ranking much quicker than these doorway pages ever could.

Of course there are many other myths out there confusing the general public about what works and what doesn't work. Some of them are spread by people who don't really know the truth and others are spread by SEO companies in an attempt to make search engine optimization confusing... mission accomplished!

Regardless of where the myths come from, if you or the SEO Company you hire use common sense and do things the right way, you will have no trouble finding the proverbial Bat Cave and when you get there please tell them that I want my utility belt back!
For more information visit us online at: http://www.njcomputerdoctors.com/

PPC vs. Organic Search Marketing

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

Christie asked the following:

I have been told that the only way to get site optimization is to get pay per clicks! I have been doing my own blogging but so far I have not seen much good. As well I was considering an autoresponder as well but I am told I need a list and purchasing lists I am told are not allowed to use. I am just working so hard on high site rankings. It is a lot of work that is for sure!

Just not so sure how long you have been working with SEO but felt I should write to see your insite on things. Take Care!

=========================================

Thanks for your question Christie!

Pay per click, or PPC is not Search Engine Optimization. SEO is considered ‘organic search engine marketing’ while PPC is paid search engine marketing.

Illustration of PPC area of search engine results

SEO should start with keyword research. Here’s a great (Free) tool you can use to explore keywords: SEOBook Keyword Tool

Be imaginative. Think like your target market. For instance: If you owned a dog grooming company you’d first think of “Dogs” as a good keyword. You’d be right, but the competition for it will be severe. Instead, try adding in a geographical term - maybe “Dogs YourTown” — not only will this be an easier keyword to rank, but it’s also more likely to convert into sales. Keep working at this keyword list until you have at least 20 keywords in mind. 100+ is better.

Now, with your keyword list in hand start working on your site. Your index page (homepage) should discuss one keyword. Create a list of links on your index page. Each link will be a keyword that links directly to a new page that discusses that particular keyword. You following so far? So, if one link is “Poodle Shampoo” then that link would take visitors to the “Poodle Shampoo” page. On that page you’d discuss that topic. Be useful, be informative. Write your pages for humans, not for Search Engine Spiders. But at the same time, be sure to use the keyword and synonyms of the keyword often. On that page have the same links as on your homepage, but with 1 new one - the link back to your homepage which has “Dogs YourTown” as the text (assuming your homepage is about “Dogs YourTown”).

Once your site is operational and useful, it’s time to go link building. For maximum effect, you’ll want to concentrate on building links from related sources. Here’s the easy way to do that –> Search your favorite Search Engines for: “Dog Links”, “Grooming Links”, “YourTown Links”, and anything else you can think of. Go through the listings one at a time. Look for “add a link” buttons/links. Request a link. When you fill in link title or website title, add in some Keywords! So… if your site is YourTownGroomer.com then make the title: Dog Grooming by YourTownGroomer — always mix it up. You don’t want every site to have the same content about you.

This is simple SEO. But it works! It works very well. Don’t expect to rank for “Dogs” — but you are likely to rank very well for geographic terms and low-competition terms.

If you have any more questions, feel free to ask! Visit us online at: http://www.njcomputerdoctors.com/

Friday, December 17, 2010

Below you will find frequently asked questions and answers about web design and Internet marketing.

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

How much do your services cost?
The cost of our products and services vary greatly and depend on several factors; the size and scope of the project, the length of time necessary to complete the project and any additional expenses. We will give you a complete estimate before starting your site.

How long will it take to build my website?
We can usually deliver most website design jobs in 15 - 30 days depending on the number of pages. Smaller jobs such as updates or banner ad designs can be delivered within 24-48 hours.

How can I improve my ranking in the Search Engines and Directories?
The best way to improve your ranking is by incorporating good design with high quality and unique content into your pages. People who visit your website are looking for information and the best sites are those with the best information. If you have good text and tell a compelling story, you will rank higher. Another important factor to good rankings is the number of high quality, topic related websites that link to your website.

What are your payment terms?
We require a ½ down payment prior to beginning any project.

What is a domain name?
A domain name is your web address such as www.YourCompanyName.com.

What is web hosting?
Web hosting is a monthly fee that you pay to have your site accessible on the Internet.

How many pages will I need?
Every business has different needs. We will determine how many pages you need after learning more about your company and your goals. We have clients with sites consisting of a single page and others whose sites have over 100 pages.

Will everyone see my websites design the same?
Users will see some things differently depending on their browser and screen resolution settings. We design sites with that in mind and preview them on different machines along with several browser types (Internet Explorer, Firefox & Google Chrome) and resolution settings before publishing a website.

Who actually owns my website?
When we register your domain, the person you designate will be listed as the registrant administrative and billing contact. You are the owner of your website. When you hire Operation Web to build your website, you own the site when it is done.

Can I maintain my website myself?
Most sites need regular maintenance to check for broken links, to make sure that the code is keeping up with new technology and browsers, to update products and services or other content or feature updates. NJ Computer Doctors can maintain your site for you. We also offer a custom content management system that lets you do your own updates to your website with an easy editor that is as easy to use as Microsoft Word. You can add photos and change text with bold fonts, etc.

Why can't I find my website in the search engines?
Ninety percent of your search engine traffic is going to come from the following search engines and indexes: Google, Yahoo and Bing. Your website may take several weeks or even months to show up in the main search engines if you don't take the steps needed to get them listed. How fast your site is listed depends on each individual Search Engines' database update schedule. We use the latest techniques and strategies that will get your site indexed and listed much faster.

What is Search Engine Optimization?
Search Engine Optimization is the process of making your website Search Engine-friendly, helping you to rank higher in the results.

What is Pay-Per-Click
Pay-Per-Click programs such as Google's Adwords or Bing's Ad Center will rank your website's listing and then charge you each time a visitor clicks on your website's listing.

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Web Design Versus Web Development

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

The terms web designer and web developer are used interchangeably in the media and advertisements. But, they are not the same thing. Design involves what the visitor sees on your website, development involves the site’s functionality. This article explores the difference between these two disciplines.

A website contains several distinct aspects:

Look and feel – primarily the graphics, color scheme, navigation elements, etc.
Content – information, products, etc available on the site.
Functionality – functionality includes interactive features that the web site provides to the visitors and the required infrastructure needed to provide them.
Usability – the site from a visitor’s perspective and includes things like program interactions, navigation and usefulness.

Look And Feel

Look and feel includes overall appearance of the website. A Graphic designer decides on what colors and fonts to use and how to layout each of the sites pages.

The graphic designer needs to have a good appreciation for aesthetics and feeling for what combinations of colors and imagery will project the image that the website owner wants visitors to have of the site.

Content

Content is all of the text that is found on a website and includes everything from the privacy policy to a very persuasive sales letter extolling the benefits of a product and asking the visitor to part with their hard earned money and everything in between. If it is written text then it is part of the content. You need a copywriter and editor to create good content.

Functionality

Functionality includes all of the interactive aspects of a web site and includes animation. The common denominator is that programmers using the various web programming languages that work either on a web server or in a web browser create all of these functions.

Flash can be used to animate graphics. Perl, php and java are programming languages used on the web server to create sophisticated dynamic web pages. These pages can work independently but most commonly with a database to create all of the features we have come to expect from a website.

JavaScript is used in browser to create a lot of cool effects such as swapping images when a mouse moves over an image, “ticker tapes”, links changing colors, etc. JavaScript works in the user’s web browser rather than on the web server.

There are also other “backend” applications that are transparent to the visitor such as form processing, content management and other administration programs that make it possible for non-programmers to maintain some aspects of the website’s data.

All of these programs have to be integrated into the HTML code to be used on the webpage.

Usability

Usability is the website viewed from the user’s point of view and involves mostly testing things like:

Does the look and feel are actually portraying the proper image?
Is the navigation is user friendly?
Does the navigation lead the visitor to where the owner wants them to go?
Does the site load quickly?
Do the applications work properly?


Design Versus Development

Unfortunately, there is a lot of overlap and integration needed between web design and web development. When you toss in content creation and usability testing, it becomes a real mess.

Can a single individual do all of these things? There are some people who can do all of these things but most people only do one or two of the tasks.

Web design usually involves content creation and look and feel while web development involves creating the functionality and testing its usability.

Web designers need to be proficient with graphic design tools like Photoshop. Most also know HTML so they can implement their designs. However, using animation on the site and layout for the site’s content are also part of the web designer’s responsibility.

Many site owners provide the content for the website but a web designer needs to be able to edit and even rewrite the content if necessary. Web designers also normally do the usability testing for the navigation and site loading speed.

Web development programmers create the functionality for the website, but all of that functionality must be integrated into the HTML pages on the site. Alternatively, the HTML content could also be integrated into the program. Web developers also do usability testing on the site, at least for the functionality they create. So the programmer also needs to have some HTML knowledge as well.

In either case the web designer and web development programmer need to work together to assure that the website does everything that the site owner requested.

Bottom Line – Only large companies can afford to hire separate experts in graphic design, content creation, programming and usability testing when building a new website. In most other cases, the web designer and web development programmer are two different people who must work together to create a successful website.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

50 SEO tips to increase page visits...

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

1) On Site SEO: Glossary pages are good content for SEO

2) On Site SEO: Use footer links sparingly and only link to your most important pages. Don’t waste pagerank on content that is worthless.

3) Search: You need to get your site in to the blended search results using images and video. A picture is worth 1000 words and people are clicking on it.

4) Keyword Research: Use Google Insights to make sure the keywords you are focusing on do not have declining interest.

5) Analytics: Measure your brand traffic and keyword traffic separately.

6) Analytics: Are you ranking #1 (or trying to rank #1) for a keyword that will not provide any real benefit to your business? Check that.

7) Keyword Research: Perform ongoing keyword research. The way people search changes.

8:) Competitive Analysis: Read competitors press releases. Are they using words that may change the way people search? Think "Kleenex, Xerox, Dell"

9) Keyword Research: Use Google Trends to check traffic trends in different markets. There may be emerging opportunities in other geographic areas..

10) Keyword Research: How long will it take to get a keyword converting? Will it be worth it when it does?

11) Launching a new product that doesn’t exist in the market yet? Associate it with one that does to make people more comfortable with it.

12) Landing pages: put the call to action above the fold.

13) Landing pages: keep forms above the fold and make them as short as possible

14) Conversions: 3% to 5% is decent

15: Bounce rate: 30% is good, 50% is ok, 70% needs work

16: Search: 80% of queries are informational. Give them the information they want and then lead them where you want them

17: Forms: make sure there are no questions they can’t answer or they will leave

18: Does your "Thank You" page cross sell or further engage? It should.

19: User experience: Screen size and resolution matters. Test, test, test

20: Local search: Just because you are closest doesn’t mean you get the business. You need to build your brand too. Build trust.

21: Local search: Pull out your phone and do a search for your business. What happened?

22: Local search: neighborhoods matter

23: Local search: Pull out your cell phone and search for your business. What happened? (duplicate)

24: Local Search: neighborhoods matter. Are you optimizing for a "bad neighborhood"?

25: Local Search: point your browser to getlisted.org and follow the instructions

26: Local search: Add photos and video to your local search listing

27: Local search: include city & state in the title tags

28: Even negative reviews help your rank. It’s all about the numbers

29: Offer an Incentive for reviews

30: Sign up to watch a video worked much better than sign up to download a white paper

31: 80% of your visitors will fill out an "optional information" form after completing your call to action

32: Most visitors will not watch more than the 1st image of a rotating image.

33: Your marketing purpose must be the #1 goal of your website

34: 7 choices tops for your main navigation. Too much = no choice

35: Don’t use a final forward slash on your URL’s

36: Buttons should never say "Submit". Try "Download Now", "Start Free Trial", "Request More Information"

37: When building links make sure they have a random life

38: Link magnets are more productive than link begging

39: Local Search: Local business’s need local links

40: Text links in a page carry more weight than alt text

41: Link Building: No follow one link on a page and all become no follow

42: Link Building: The sequence of links on a page matters. Put the important ones on top.

43: Check your analytics for pages that are getting links and no traffic and redirect them.

44: Always be testing and measuring results. Before you change something get a benchmark.

45: The order of links in the code is more important than the order of links in the user experience

46: Surface conversations about your product, service or brand that are happening

47: Google’s technology is emerging to be able to read text in images. (Think picture of a newspaper page)

48: Google’s technology is also emerging to be able to understand words spoken in Video and index the transcripts.

49: If you are going to do video write the script with keywords in mind

50: If you use a map on your site embed a real map versus using an image.

Using Long Tail Keywords to Your Advantage

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

A keyword is a simple word or phrase that is typed into the search engine by a user looking for information. For example if a searcher was looking for information on family photography tips, they might use some of the following common search terms.

"family photography photography tips taking photos"

If you used a keyword research tool like Wordtracker, you would discover that these phrases are very popular search terms. In fact, if you built a web page that focused on any of the keywords above, you would have a very difficult time ranking in the top 10 on Google's search results page?

Why? Because the competition for general keywords can be fierce. Keyword competition is defined using the term Supply. If a keyword phrase as a high supply, it means that there are many web pages out there that are using this keyword. The higher the supply, the more the competition.

Long Tail Keywords are simply the longer and more targeted phrases that people type into the search engines. In our photography keyword example above, we looked at a few very general competitive keywords. Here are some long tail keywords relating to photography.

"night time photography tips eliminate blinking from photos removing red eye from photos"

Do you see the difference? Long tail keywords are much more targeted to a specific sub topic. The nice thing about discovering long tail keywords in your particular niche is that they typically have a much lower level of competition, so it is easier to rank in the top ten in the search engine results.

Another advantage is that long tail keywords bring in much more targeted traffic. While the keyword 'family photography' may be a very competitive keyword for photography sites, the traffic brought in by such a keyword will be pretty broad.

By comparison, someone finding your site through the long tail keyword 'eliminate blinking from photos' is looking for specific information. If you can provide that information, you stand a much better chance of building trust and confidence with this visitor and converting them to a newsletter signup, registration or purchase.

Someone that gets to your site via a long tail keyword is typically ready to pull the trigger on some type of purchase or action. We say that they are "late" in their buying cycle. In addition, you'll find it easier to achieve a top ten ranking at the search engines for long tail keywords.

By sprinkling them into your page copy, you are more likely to pull in traffic that converts at a higher rate. The downside is that long tail phrases will typically not generate the high traffic numbers of more general keywords. But remember, the more general keywords are much more competitive.

If you use an analytics package like Google Analytics, you'll actually be able to see the types of long tail keywords that people typed in to get to your site. While long tail keywords can make up 50% or more of your traffic, many of them will only be one-time traffic generators.

So then, is it possible to research and target long tail keywords when writing your web pages? The answer is 'yes' and 'no.'

First off, if you write good original content that is genuinely helpful to your target market, you'll automatically weave in long tail keywords without even trying. As your page content grows, visitors will get to your site through more and more of these long tail phrases. In other words, the tail will grow longer and longer. In fact, you'll find visitors getting to your site using search phrases that you would have never thought of yourself. This is the value of focusing each of your content pages on a specific topic that provides valuable information to a narrow target audience.

Read Long Tail Keywords for additional tips on using the long tail to rank higher in the search engines and generate targeted traffic.

All hail the long tail!

8 Top Tips For Social Media Marketing

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

There is no doubt about it. Social media marketing is becoming more and more an integral part of the business environment. Procter & Gamble is ditching its TV Soap Operas for YouTube marketing instead. Coca Cola, Johnson & Johnson, and other large companies have also jumped on board.

The “fad” is growing into a mainstay. These media are no longer curiosities; they are becoming valid ways to grow your base of customers.

With that in mind, I want to share a few things I’ve learned about these media since I first started using them to reach out to customers and potential customers.

I’ve made a number of mistakes, so my point here is to share some ideas to keep you from making the same mistakes I made or mistakes that I’ve seen others make.

So here are few things to keep in mind:

1. When you are asked to complete your online profile, make sure you answer it completely with information about you and your business. Use your real name and your photo. I’ve seen so many photos of people’s dogs, cats, and everything that didn’t have to do with their business. I have found that a picture of you is always the best. Again, complete the entire information on your portfolio so that others can communicate with you if they so desire.

2. In your profile, detail who you are seeking to befriend and ask everyone to abide by that information. You don’t need nor want to be friends with everyone.

3. Don’t approach strangers and ask them to be friends with you just so that you can then try to sell them your products or services.

4. Use two different accounts. One for your business and one personal account. Don’t mix them together.

5. Don’t put anything on the internet that you don’t want your future wife, boss, clients, or potential clients to read or see.

6. Pick a screen name that says something about you.

7. Offer information of value. Don’t just talk about yourself or your company. For instance, a lot of my connections include one of my marketing tips each month to their connections. This is one way they provide value instead of always just talking about their company, products, or services. They can also offer health tips, or other information valuable to their audience. There are lots of things that can be offered.

8. Never post anything to a group when you are tired; you are apt to make serious mistakes. It also goes without saying…don’t post after you’ve had a few glasses of wine with dinner. And never, ever post when you are angry or upset. You will regret it later.

There is little difference in connecting with individuals either online or offline. Create trust and be authentic. Don’t try to be someone you aren’t.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Campus social media blackout wins converts – Richmond Times

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

Campus social media blackout wins converts – Richmond Times
PHILADELPHIA –

A social media blackout at a small Pennsylvania college won over some skeptical students who initially disliked it, with some reporting better classroom concentration and less stress during the weeklong experiment, school officials said Friday.

Forty-two percent of students responding to surveys at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology ended up supporting the exercise, which temporarily blocked sites such as Twitter and Facebook on campus. Only 23 percent approved before the blackout.

“Even though people initially were angry … even the most cranky student had to admit some good came out of it,” Provost Eric Darr said.

Results released Friday showed that 25 percent of respondents reported better classroom concentration that week, 23 percent found lectures more interesting and 6 percent reported eating better and exercising more.

The 800-student private school had drawn both ridicule and admiration for the blackout in September. Staff and students alike were affected by the ban, which included social networking sites and instant-messaging but allowed e-mail, texting and other Web surfing.

Critics noted students could visit the sites with smartphones or by walking to nearby buildings with free WiFi. Darr said the point was not to prevent access so much as to get people to think critically about the role of social media in their lives.

The statistics released Friday were based on in-house surveys conducted before and after the blackout, with additional anecdotes gathered from focus groups, e-mails and personal conversations.

One-quarter of students and 40 percent of faculty and staff responded to the surveys. Darr acknowledges the results are far from scientific, but he said the trends and personal accounts are evidence that social media “can take over your life.”

About two-thirds of respondents said they use Facebook each day, and 10 percent reported daily use of Twitter. Thirteen percent of students said they used Facebook to avoid boredom between classes.

During the ban, 33 percent of students reported feeling less stressed. Twenty-one percent said they used their normal social networking time to do homework; 10 percent said they read online news.

Some students changed their study methods. Darr cited a Facebook-based tutoring effort that was failing to explain a complex biology process to students; they grasped the concept only after a face-to-face meeting during the blackout, he said.

In another account, students who had been using Facebook to work on a business plan found a better way to collaborate during the ban. Ashley Harris, a senior, said in September that the blackout helped her focus better because she didn’t feel pressured to check tweets and status updates.

On Friday, Harris said surviving, and in some ways thriving on, the ban gave her the strength to go back on a social media diet this week as she studied for exams.

“I’ve been able to really cut back on it during finals I think because of not using it during blackout week,” Harris said.

Darr noted social media are integral parts of modern life. The blackout served its purpose by starting a conversation about these powerful tools, he said.

“To all the social scientists out there,” Darr said, “this is a fertile ground for research.”

And the Top Twitter Trends of 2010 Are…

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

Twitter has published the list of top overall trends in the year behind us, as well as the top 10 trending topics in eight categories: News Events, People, Movies, Television, Technology, World Cup, Sports and Hashtags.

Twitter’s top ten overall trends actually paint quite a good picture of what the world was interested in in 2010; definitely more so than Google’s list of the fastest rising search topics.

The Gulf oil spill and the Haiti Earthquake were definitely among the biggest news stories of the year. The FIFA World Cup, the accompanying vuvuzelas, and the psychic octopus Paul captured the attention of almost the entire world for a couple of months, and iPad and Android were constantly generating buzz in the world of technology. The rest, as one might expect, is entertainment: Christopher Nolan’s hit movie Inception, the teen sensation Justin Bieber, and the omnipresent Harry Potter. Here’s the full top 10 list:

1. Gulf Oil Spill
2. FIFA World Cup
3. Inception
4. Haiti Earthquake
5. Vuvuzela
6. Apple iPad
7. Google Android
8. Justin Bieber
9. Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows
10. Pulpo Paul

Check out Twitter’s microsite to see the top trends for the individual categories.

StumbleUpon Poised to Launch Pro Accounts Early Next Year

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

At the start of next year, businesses, publications and brands will be able to join StumbleUpon as “Pro” users, curating both their own content and suggested content in order to reach a larger audience.

The StumbleUpon team — founder & CEO Garrett Camp, Director of Communications Mike Mayzel and Senior Product Manager Jeff Eddings — dropped by Mashable() HQ today to chat a bit about the project, which is tentatively called “StumbleUpon Pro.”

The idea is that businesses and publications can sign up for the discovery service as something between a regular user and a paid content provider. A pro account would essentially work the same way a verified account on Twitter() does, giving the publication/company/business a level of legitimacy and authority that will entice regular StumbleUpon() denizens to follow it.

Naturally, accounts like this won’t contain merely a stream of a company’s own content — that would be boring — but that content will more effectively reach interested users given the likely boost in following. The team wasn’t exactly sure how the pro accounts would be denoted on the site — perhaps with a badge or some other indication.

Right now, it looks as though this service will be free, but businesses and publications can also pay to have their content featured more prominently using StumbleUpon’s existing ad platform.

According to Eddings, this move aims to answer one question: “Who are the people who are here to discover stuff, and who are the people who are here to get discovered?”

YouTube Tops 2010’s Most Buzzed-About Social Network List

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

YouTube has come out on top in a ranking of 2010’s most buzzed-about websites and social media services.

This year was the year of video- and photo-sharing; 2010 saw the rise — in volume and positive mentions — of YouTube and Flickr and the fall of some of the first social networking sites.

The Zeta 2010 Buzz Awards measures the mentions of 125 of the top social media sites to determine not just popularity but how people feel about those sites, too.

“We held a mirror up to the social media world and try to get an understanding of what people are saying about the various social networking sites,” said Al DiGuido, CEO of Zeta Interactive, a digital marketing agency in New York City.

People seem to be saying good things about YouTube() and Flickr(). The blogosphere spoke positively about YouTube 91% of the time and about Flickr 98% of the time. Those positive mentions, along with the sites’ volume of mentions, landed them in the top two spots on the list.

“Flickr was very, very strong in terms of volume ranking but even stronger in terms of tone. That’s the highest number we’ve ever seen in terms of positive ranking in this category,” DiGuido said.


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Craigslist, Friendster, MySpace Drop From the Top 10

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Some of the first sites for networking online have fallen from the most buzzed-about list. Craigslist(), which was ranked fifth in 2009, and Friendster() and MySpace(), at the ninth and tenth spots respectively last year, didn’t make this year’s cut.

“If you look year over year, sites that have had problems with security, like Craigslist, Friendster and Myspace, these sites have kind of all dropped off from 2009. It shows the rising stars in terms of social networking sites and those that are on the wane… in the number of people at least speaking about them,” DiGuido said. “If you’ve got issues with security and privacy, you’ll deal with it pretty directly with how people are talking about it. People want to feel their information being exchanged is secure. Big mistakes will be aired in the marketplace.”

Although Facebook() still made its way onto the list, security concerns dominated the buzz about the world’s largest social networking site. “Security,” as well as “information” and “safety,” were some of the words most often used in association with Facebook, which ranks sixth on the list.

Facebook’s mentions were just 68% positive.


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Groupon, StumbleUpon, Google Buzz Make the Cut

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Newcomers to the list include Groupon, StumbleUpon and Google Buzz().

It’s been said before that 2010 has also been the year of the daily deals, and Zeta’s data seems to support that statement.

“Groupon’s coming on real strong,” DiGuido said. “We’ve been watching a lot of different verticals, brands, commercials in the last couple years, and this year is the year that deals — sites focused on deals, value, saving money — are going incredibly strong. Groupon has totally captured the social networking world.”

Google Buzz() rounded out the list at the number-ten spot, but it had the second lowest tonal rating with just 68% positive.

Newbie StumbleUpon(), on the other hand, had a whopping 94% positive mentions. Words most often used in association with the site include “advice,” “recommend,” “web/site,” “new,” and “original.”

Here’s the complete list of this year’s top 10 most buzzed about sites. Were you surprised by any of the findings? What changes do you predict for 2011? Share your thoughts in the comments.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

Web Page Optimization

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/


We all want to have the most attractive website that leaves a visitor wide-eyed and completely dazzled. Usually an extremely attractive website design involves lots of graphical elements, increasing the overall page size which causes the page to download slowly to the browser. This article will provide some useful tips on how to keep your website design attractive but still downloads quickly.

As the average internet bandwidth rate per computer is raising, more and more webmasters allow themselves to develop complex websites laden with heavy graphic elements. In extreme cases you can find websites that take as much as a few minutes to load their content in your browser. Of course the user will never wait that long for a website to load, and will move on to the next website in his search results.

So why are webmasters still developing slow loading bloated websites? Primarily due to a lack of knowledge of simple graphic optimization techniques that will allow them to maintain an attractive website while keeping the page size smaller.

How many of you are aware of the fact that a box with rounded corners can be achieved using CSS code only, without the need for any graphic image. Well it is possible! Before those of you familiar with CSS say that it cannot be done for every type of browser and a relatively high level of programming is required, I say that dealing with the most common mistakes web designers make regarding optimization can have simple solutions.

Never limit the web designer by placing any restrictions that impact the final outcome. You might make the claim that what a web designer can do with graphic software is impossible to implement by code. I disagree. When the design is finished and you are ready to slice it into small images to be used in the html code, your creativity is been tested. Everything you do at this stage will affect the total page size. If your design contains rounded shapes that overlap each other or areas with color gradients, then you must slice it carefully so the outcome is a small file size.

Let’s look at what efficient slicing means:


Do not make large slices that contain lots of different colors. Use a small number of slices where each slice contains a limited number of colors.
Do not make a large slice that contains the same graphic structure. Slice a small portion of it and duplicate it in your code. This is a very common mistake that webmasters/programmers make when dealing with gradient color background.
Do not use JPEG file format all the time. In some cases a GIF format will be much smaller in size. A rule of thumb – a slice with high number of colors will be smaller in size using the JPEG format rather than the GIF format, and the opposite is also true. Check each option separately. Every 1KB that you reduce from the image file size will eventually add up to a significant reduction in page size.
If you have text on a solid color background, do not slice it at all. Use code to create the background instead. Remember that you can define both the font style and background color of the area using CSS.

Advanced Techniques

Graphically optimizing a website is more than just knowing how to do image optimizations. There are some advanced techniques that required a high level of programming. CSS2 has much more to offer then CSS does. Although not all browsers have adopted this standard yet you should be ready for when they do. JavaScript also gives you a set of options to create some cool effects without needing to overload the page with Flash. Using limited tools like JavaScript compared to an advanced application like Flash to create the desired effects can be difficult. However think about the outcome. For a onetime effort you can differentiate your website from others. You will have an attractive professional looking website that loads quickly.

Back to the Future

As PDAs, smart mobile phones and mini laptops are used with wireless internet connections for internet browsing, publishing fast loading web pages will enhance the browsing experience not only for those using wide bandwidth connections but also will make the browsing experience user friendly (or may I say, bandwidth friendly) to the wireless clients.

For those who insist that web design optimization is not necessary because everyone will have high bandwidth connections eventually, I agree up to a point. However, the software companies are creating applications that use more bandwidth because they know it is available for them to use. Get used to writing well optimized web pages because this cat and mouse game will never end, and it is better to learn the rules of the game then it is to be bitten.




About the Author:
Warren Baker is an Internet business consultant for WebDesigners123.
WebDesigners123 connects the Web Designers with Webmasters who need their services.

Separating the Content from its Presentation

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The main idea behind the concept of separating the content from its presentation is to allow website developers a useful framework to develop their website giving them the ability to change the website’s appearance whenever they like without needing to redo the content structure. This article will explain the rationale behind separating content from presentation.

Don’t get me wrong, there isn’t just one method for implementing this concept. More than that, since the introduction of technologies such as CGI, ASP, and PHP that allow web developers to generate dynamic web pages, a lot of companies have found creative ways to develop their website applications using this concept as their foundation.

Over the past few years, the internet community has been trying to create a set of standards for creating web sites. A new technology called CSS or Cascading Style Sheets has been introduced. There is nothing actually new in the way CSS handles a web page’s presentation. CSS allows the developer to define a style for each html tag element. This is similar to the method developers (programmers) used in the old days when they attached a variable to each html tag defining its style. The major difference is that CSS style definitions can be interpreted by most of the existing browsers available while in the older method the dynamic web page engine performs the interpretation.

The internet standards organization W3C has encouraged the use of CSS by enhancing its ability to control the web page’s look and feel. New style options have been added to the CSS specifications that have not been added to the HTML description language. There’s no doubt that this was a smart move. It’s forced web developers to use CSS to achieve an attractive web page that also supports the principle of content separation. Unfortunately CSS did not find its way into the internet mainstream easily because of compatibility issues with most web browsers. These days CSS is widely supported by most of the major web browsers, while CSS2, an enhanced version of CSS still has serious compatibility issues.

Obviously, the separation of content from its presentation deals not only with the styling aspects, but also with browser compatibility issues. The styling aspects were the first to be handled by web developers and web designers. As the complexity of information technology (IT) systems become increasingly more difficult to maintain, the internet community is looking for a solution that will become a standard so that content can be easily be managed. One goal for this standard is to define a “language” that IT systems can “talk” with each other and exchange information. Large corporations have historically used many different software platforms in their networks to conduct business. Internet based applications can provide a single platform that can act as an intermediary between all of these different systems and allow communication between them.

XML (Extensible Markup Language) has been adopted as a standard to present the content itself. OFX (Open Financial Exchange) is a close relative of XML that has been widely used by financial institutions who have been using Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) systems to transmit orders and invoices over private networks, intranets and the internet for several years.

The need to present the content in a standard way that separates it from any design elements was so urgent that for the first time in software development history all the three major players (SUN, IBM, and Microsoft) actually agreed with each other and XML become a standard almost overnight and was adopted by many content providers and news agencies.

Yet the concept was not fully implemented. CSS handles the styling aspects while XML handles the document content. What about the webpage layout? New websites are been published each day by thousands. Every day millions of new web pages are being added to the internet’s global database. Webmasters have found that changing the page background color or the font color might not be enough to keep their website fresh and polished to compete with other new websites. However, changing the website layout can sometimes involve a lot of effort because it involves modifying the web page source code. XSL was introduced to solve that issue. Consider XSL a set of rules that can describe a web page layout. Combine it with XML (and optionally with CSS) you will get a valid html file.

XSL is very similar in its mechanics as any other dynamic web page generator. Beside the fact that XSL is platform independent, its biggest advantage is that it can be processed on the client side. The web server sends the client the content using XML format and the layout definition using XSL format. By doing that, the load on the web server’s CPU is reduced allowing it to perform other tasks more quickly. However, XSL was not adopted by all the major web browsers. So unlike XML, XSL has not found its way to the market easily.

Before you run back to your desk and start redesigning your website according to these magnificent standards, you should be aware that those technologies are really not needed most of the time. In fact, using them unnecessarily can cause performance problems. CSS usually will not cause your system to slow down. Just try to keep your CSS file as small as possible. Many web developers maintain large CSS files with lots of unused style definitions. Deciding to work with XML is a serious decision. If your website generates dynamic web pages supported by databases like MySQL, adding additional XML functionality will definitely reduce your website performance. Sometimes you won’t have a choice and will need to upgrade your hardware to maintain your website’s performance. There is no rule of thumb for this issue. The decision should be based on each system and its engineering demands. My advice to you is to think two steps ahead. Try to predict what kind of future services your website will be providing. Plan your website properly at stage one and save yourself lots of effort later.




About the Author:
Warren Baker is an Internet business consultant for WebDesigners123.
WebDesigners123 connects the Web Designers with Webmasters who need their services.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Shorely Delicious Catering Jersey Shore, NJ

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.shorelydelicious.com/

Coming Spring/Summer 2011 to a concert, music festival, street fair, or private party near you. Shorely Delicious Catering will be delivering the freshest organic, loacally grown produce and other cullinary treats to keep your body full and hydrated while you enjoy the scene....

We are known for successfully producing premium quality catering for major music festivals, street & state fairs, as well as private parties. We bring an unparalleled success story to the table. Operating time and again in the starkest of conditions, we work our magic to create comfortable, inviting dining areas, complete with fan favorite choices.

Our serving times are designed to be longer than anyone else. We want to be the most accommodating to all. Shorely Delicious Catering comes totally turn-key with our own equipment, floored dining room tents, kitchen and full service hospitality. Shorely Delicious Catering keeps things vibrant and ever changing.

For your most demanding festival & private party catering needs, demand Shorley Delicious Catering!!!

We Understand Customer Demand ~ We Excel With Creative Menus, Unparalleled Service & Outstanding Presentation.

The food we prepare depends on the particular event and budget. We have three fryers, two grills, slicers, cold storage, and steam tables. So whatever the client wants, we can provide. We go from Surf and Turf to Burgers and Dogs, french fries & corn on the cob. One of our chefs is very educated on the art of cooking solely for vegan and vegetarian tastes, so we can also provide a full vegetarian and vegan menu available upon request...

Shorley Delicious Catering can work with you to design the perfect custom menu for your event.

We can accommodate the widest variety of custom food selections, priced based upon the season, the service, and the event. We will assist in the planning and selection of food, beverages and decor to create a personalized and memorable event. We can drop-off and pickup from your event, or we can provide serving staff, bartenders and on-site chefs. Pricing can be affected by the date, duration, and location of the event as well as equipment needed and menu selection. Our proposals are priced all-inclusive, with all equipment, staffing, taxes and gratuities included - there are no hidden costs.

Types of Events We Service

Music Festivals
Street Fairs
Weddings
Bar/Bat Mitzvahs
Banquets
Holiday Parties
Cocktail Parties
Birthday Parties
Graduation Parties
Personal Chef Service

Monday, December 6, 2010

Stop Sitting Around Waiting for Your Website to Magically Appear – You Need to Take Action!

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

Are you looking for a professional SEO company who can get your name and business to the top of the search engines?  Have you been trying to rank in Google™ , Yahoo™ , or MSN™ and only had little or no results?  Maybe you’re doing the wrong things?  Using outdated and worthless techniques?  Or maybe you have no idea where to start…
When starting out with a new website, many small business owners  are of the “if you build it, they will come” mentality when they have a website built.  The truth is this just won’t happen.  If you don’t market your site and promote it in a way that gets search engine traffic, your website is probably costing you a lot more money than it is making you.
Quick SEO Tips
Here are some quick tips you can use right away to improve your site’s ranking.
1. Title tags – one of the most important keys to ranking is the title tag.  Make sure each page has a unique title tag and use around 2 – 3 keywords, but make them so they create variations.   If you serve a specific local or regional market, it can also be helpful to list your main location in the title tag.  Using geo modifiers helps you to rank more quickly and show up for more buying keyword phrases.
2.  Don’t Over Optimize – Don’t overoptimize the pages you want to rank well.  I believe this is the main cause of the ‘Sandbox’ filter.  The old way to get a site to rank was to have the keyword in the domain, the title, the h1 tag, an h2 tag, and the first sentence bolded and italicized.  When you do this, it is obvious to a search engine that you are trying to rank for this keyword.  Search engines don’t like to be manipulated, so you have to be more subtle.   If your site is perfectly optimized and you’re moving up from #15 to #7 to #3 and then suddenly you disappear, then you’ve probably triggered this filter.  There are  exceptions.  Sometimes, it is just the engine doing some recalculating.  Other times, you’re getting filtered.   Don’t overoptimize and you’ll be less likely to get filtered.
3. Links to links – Many people know that link building will help your site to rank better.  But most people go about it the wrong way.  If you want a page to rank and not fall back quickly, then you need to build links to your links.  If all the pages that link to your page are brand new and have no backlinks of their own, then your page is not going to rank or it won’t rank for very long.  In addition to building links to your main pages, you have to build links to your links.
4. Website Speed – If you’re website is slow, your visitors will notice, and they will probably leave quickly.  Make sure your website loads quickly and doesn’t have any problems displaying in the most common browsers.
5. Fresh, Engaging Content – I shouldn’t even have to say this, but to rank well and keep on ranking well, you really need to have fresh, high quality content on your site.  What do you offer that differentiates you from everyone else?  Make sure the content on your site is fresh and interesting, and your rankings will stick.
Instead of trying to do this all by yourself, let me help you.  Don’t waste any more time.  Fill out the form on our website or call us today at (201)290-4254 to receive a free consultation.  Or you can click away from this page and keep on getting mediocre results from your search engine rankings.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

How do I drive and convert more qualified leads to my website

By Jordyn Ferri
For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors Online at: http://www.computerdoctorswebsitedesign.com/

Google Sponsored Listing Example
So you might be wondering, “How do I drive and convert more qualified leads to my website?” Depending on the type of your product or service, paid internet advertising might be just the tool to increase your business. The goal of internet advertising is to attract traffic, convert traffic to leads, and turn leads into commissions. You can attract traffic to your website by creating “sponsored listings” and/or visually appealing “display ads” (which are static or motion graphic banner ads). In this discussion, we will focus on sponsored listings created through the Google content network, also known as Google AdWords. Google’s content network is a great tool to use because it reaches 80% of all global internet users.
Sponsored searches are the text-only advertisements that are displayed on the top, right (and sometimes bottom) sides of a search engine. For instance, if you were to type a search word into Google, the top row and right column of the page are sponsored links. The rest of the listings are organic search results that you do not have to pay for. Rather these listings reflect a website’s page rank, which can be made higher through proper SEO (search engine optimization).

Google AdWords Estimated CPC
Now that you know what sponsored listings are, you probably want to know how to go about purchasing this ad space. To begin, you will want to chose a “keyword” that best describes or is most relevant to your business. If you chose the most relevant keyword for you business, you already know that the user is interested in your product or service, and that is how you will convert traffic into leads. If you are unsure which keyword to chose, you can use Google’s Keyword Tool which will provide you with the amount of competitors using the same keyword, the number of times people searched for that keyword globally and locally, and the local search trends which tell you the fluctuation of the search over the past year. You will then create a text only ad that will appear when people type in the keyword you chose to focus on.

Google Campaign Example
Next, you will want to purchase your ad space. Google makes it easy for you to stay in control of your spending by creating a specific daily campaign budget. It is important to note that Google uses a detailed bidding system for people and businesses to acquire ad space. Ad space is not set at a flat rate or cost. Once you have a set budget, you will then create an cost-per-click (CPC) bid or cost-per-thousand-impression (CPM) bid that you will want to pay every time someone clicks on your ad or the number of times your ad is displayed on the page. For instance, if you set a daily budget of $5.00 and a Maximum CPC bid of $0.20, that means you will have up to 25 clicks per day. Once you reach your campaign budget, the ad is automatically turned off, and will no longer appear in the sponsored links area. The AdWords Discounter automatically reduces your Maximum CPC/CPM (maximum amount you are willing to pay for ad placement) so that the Actual CPC/CPM you are charged is just one cent more than the minimum needed to maintain your position on the page. It is important to remember that you will only be charged for the amount of times someone actually clicks or views your ad. For example, if you set a daily budget of $5.00, and you set a CPC of $0.20, but your ad is only clicked on 5 times, you will only pay $1.00.
The best part about Google’s contextual targeting technology is that your ad is sure to be placed on websites or blogs that are relevant to your business. This can be done through automatic targeting (letting the Google CN have your keywords reflect your ad placements) or manual placement targeting (choosing specific sites or sections of sites that you want your ad to appear on). They also offer a variety of tools to help monitor your bidding, budgets, and placements to see if they are being optimized in comparison to your competition (ie. getting the most clicks/impressions out of your budget, knowing the exact bid you have to place in order to show up on the first search page, getting the lowest possible price in order for you to maintain your ad’s position, being able to clearly identify which ads and placements bring you customers, etc.) After some monitoring and tweaking, these tools will help you best convert your leads into commissions.
If done properly, Google AdWords (and paid internet advertising in general) is a highly effective way to reach a large majority of your target audience.
It is my suggestion to read up on Google AdWords and watch a variety of tutorials so that you become familiar with this advertising tool (as it can be confusing for first time users). Some resources you may want to consider are:
- Getting Started
- Program Basics
- Keyword Ideas
- Google AdWords Glossary
You may also want to take advantage of their online tutorials:
- AdWords Classroom Online
- Free Online tutorials – Google Business YouTube Channel
- Getting Started with Google AdWords


Read more: http://www.lform.com/blog/#ixzz17Gsxp5w3

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Web 2.0 tools can foster growth in hard times

Zappos.com Inc. credits its novel Web 2.0-based sales philosophy for much of its significant sales growth -- and continuing profitability -- during the current hard times.
The online shoe and clothing store doesn't spend massive sums creating and implementing online or offline marketing and advertising campaigns, yet it still generates significant buzz among its current and potential customers.
How? Mostly through its heavy use of Twitter Inc.'s eponymous social network and, to a lesser extent, its use of tools from Web 2.0 providers like Facebook Inc.
Of Zappos.com's 1,400 employees, 450 actively use Twitter to promote the company. In fact, CEO Tony Hsieh is the 20th most popular Twitterer, with more than 186,000 followers on the social network, according to Twitterholic.com.
Instead of sending online shoppers coupons or information about sales, executives and employees at Henderson, Nev.-based Zappos.com regularly tweet about what happens to them at the airport, the fact that they eat marshmallows in between phone calls and the state of the economy.
The goal is to respond to customer comments and form personal connections with their Twitter followers, as well as with friends on Facebook, where employees post blogs and videos.
The tweets and posts are a way to give customers and other curious social network members a way to get a glimpse at the inside workings of the company.
"Today, consumers have access to so much information," said Aaron Magness, director of business development at Zappos.com. "You can buy the same shirts at Zappos as at somewhere else. The product almost becomes less important; it becomes about the business."
The privately held retailer claimed more than $1 billion in sales last year, up from $840 million in 2007. In blog posts, Hsieh said the company did cut 8% of its workforce late last year because of the declining economy, but it continues to be profitable nonetheless.
Zappos.com isn't alone in its use of social networks. Companies large and small are increasingly investigating how to best use Web 2.0 tools from the likes of Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and YouTube. Analysts note that there's increasing pressure from customers and employees on companies to use social networks.
Potential Risks
Analysts say that, as in the case of Zappos.com, using Web 2.0 tools to boost visibility can be a good thing, but the strategy can also pose risks, especially in a time of layoffs, benefit cutbacks and salary reductions.
For example, an employee, whether she's a CEO or a researcher, could create an online maelstrom with an unintentional slip of the keyboard. And readers of a company's online posts, bolstered by anonymity, could respond to them in a particularly vicious manner.
"It's two-way communication, and you have to be able to take the heat that may come your way," said Dan Olds, an analyst at Gabriel Consulting Group Inc. in Beaverton, Ore. "It isn't for everyone. Some companies will have a hard time dealing with it, while others will thrive."
Olds said that any company using Web 2.0 tools will inevitably face strong, and potentially embarrassing, criticism. "No company is perfect, and some customers will complain about anything," he said. "That's why some companies are still cautious about engaging with social networks."
Olds also noted that it's important for businesses to find the right voice or tone for their social networking personas. For example, Dell Inc. uses sites like Twitter to blast out information about sales and coupons, while Zappos.com is all about letting customers get to know its employees, he said.
"You have to make sure that you're presenting the right image for your company and doing it in the right way," he said. "A whimsical and funny approach will work for Apple and many other companies, but not so well for, say, Dow Chemical. It takes a lot of thought and careful consideration."
Olds also suggested that companies establish a clear goal for their social networking strategies -- and he said they shouldn't expect users to automatically embrace them. "A bank that focuses on its interest-bearing checking accounts will be less interesting than a bank CEO who provides straight talk on the economy. The critical thing is to understand your goals and present an image consistent with your company," he said.
"I see this whole social networking phenomenon not as truly a purely technical phenomenon, but as a change in the values of the organization," said Soumitra Dutta, the Roland Berger Chaired Professor of Business and Technology at INSEAD, an international business school in Fontainebleau, France.
"CEOs are becoming more open to new ideas from employees and customers they haven't normally interacted with," Dutta said. "Traditionally, companies have looked at customer relationship management as a one-to-one issue. Today, we're seeing that customers talk to each other and not just directly to the company."
Thus, businesses must move in to try to actively manage their relationships with these communities and respond to positive and negative feedback, he added.
A growing number of businesses are creating such communities to bring together groups of people who all love the same thing, whether it's a certain pair of sneakers, a car model or a mainframe computer.
For example, just over a year ago, IBM created a Facebook page for people interested in news and information about its System z mainframe computer offerings. Launched in December 2007, the page now counts more than 700 friends. And, IBM notes, that's a lot of friends for a computer that isn't the newest or sexiest around today.
IBM spokesman Kevin Acocella acknowledged that the company's use of what many see as kids' technology to gather people interested in big-iron machines used by the Facebook generation's fathers and grandfathers is somewhat ironic.
IBM is looking to use the technology to get young people interested in mainframe technology by offering links to articles, comment strings, YouTube videos and the like. The Facebook page has become particularly important in this economy, since many IT professionals and students can't afford to go to conferences or seminars, Acocella added.
Despite its status as one of the earliest computer companies, IBM is no Johnny-come-lately to the social networking scene. IBMers have been blogging and collaborating with wikis for several years.
The company has even created a social networking site, dubbed The Greater IBM Connection, for IBM employees and alumni. The site, which was created about two years ago, attracted some 24,000 members in the first 14 months. Membership has since tripled to 73,000 in more than 110 countries, Acocella said.
Also, IBM has created a social media team to help its current employees learn how to use social networks, record and edit podcasts, and be successful bloggers.
"Over the years, we've learned that what the decision-makers cite as one of the most, if not the most, important driver of their perception of IBM is their personal interaction with IBMers," noted Acocella.
And while IBM requires its employees to follow Web 2.0 guidelines it has established -- such as banning the use of obscenities or slurs, or the posting of confidential company data or personal information about fellow employees -- others, like Zappos.com, give their employees free rein.
Want to find out more about Web 2.0 for business? SeeHow and why to launch a business presence on TwitterandBest Buy getting results from social network .
Copyright 2009 IDG. All Rights Reserved.

For more information please visit NJ Computer Doctors Online at: http://www.njcomputerdoctors.com/

Friday, December 3, 2010

Are SEOs the 'Bad Guys'?

"Me, I always tell the truth. Even when I lie."

There have been a couple of pretty interesting articles written this week that ask a legitimate (if not somewhat sensationalized) question: Does Google consider SEOs to be criminals?

SEOs being SEOs are, by definition, people who make a living trying to manipulate the results of search engines. Now, before you eat me alive here... I don't necessarily mean manipulate in a negative sense. But in many aspects 'optimization' and 'manipulation' are somewhat interchangeable terms. An SEO 'optimizes' a site in an attempt to enhance that site's search engine rank or placement. By moving a site in the results, you are, by definition, manipulating the results.

There is nothing wrong with that. There are lots of sites that aren't 'search engine friendly' and lots of sites that just do things 'wrong' that, when fixed, will notice an enhancement in their positioning for search queries relevant to their site. Search engines don't mind this. The existence of resources like Webmaster Central are a testament to this.

So the search engines have rules for SEOs and the SEOs can either choose to follow the rules, or they can not follow the rules and face the consequences. The 'foul' being called by Michael Gray and Lisa Barone however is maybe SEOs are being subjected to something of a double standard.

Google is pretty hard line on paid links. That's common knowledge. All SEOs know this and several of them have been taken to task in the past for paid or 'incentivized' linking campaigns. Everybody in the business knows paying for links - whether the payment be cash or some other 'benefit' - is considered a big time no-no by Google.


Michael and Lisa suggest however that there are lots of people getting by with just that - paying/rewarding inbound links - without suffering repercussions from Google. Just recently, as Michael points out, Google themselves decided to give away the new and unreleased version of their new Google phone to attendees. The giveaway sparks lots of articles, lots of blog posts and yes... lots of links and attention for the new Google phone. Is that incentivizing inbound links? Is it a promotional stunt? Is there a difference? Michael says that android picked up 50,000 new links within 24 hours of the giveaway.

Sure, lots of sites picked up the news about the Google Ion (the proper name of the phone) ... but I don't think they posted a specific link for people to point to, nor did they make the awarding of a phone contingent upon some sort of review or plug for the product. So, in that sense, I would have to call this one a little 'iffy' - 50,000 links is an AWFUL lot of links though, isn't it? But does Google care about links? Why on Earth would they? They may have had an agenda with the giveaway, sure... but I would think it would be to generate buzz for Android... not accrue inbound links. But isn't one just as good as the other? I dunno...


Now as to whether or not an SEO would suffer some penalty if their client gave away some product to generate some buzz, I don't know. I'd like to think they wouldn't. I guess the devil would be in the details on that one. It certainly is an interesting thing to think about though. Does this constitute a double standard? Would an SEO or their client catch Google's fury if they tried a similar promotional stunt?

Here's another example. Guy Kawasaki, super high profile blogger, Twitterer and all around social media mogul A lister was given a CAR for a while. Audi sent him an Audi R8 in exchange for him blogging about the car. I don't know if you know what an Audi R8 is, but it's really really cool and expensive and Iron Man drove one in the movie... and I guess Audi knew exactly what they were doing because we are still linking to them months later over the Kawasaki post.

The Audi example is a little tougher to rationalize. it was clear that Audi loaned Kawasaki a super hot rod sports car on the condition that he blog about driving it and how great and awesome and fun it was. Audi knew that Kawasaki has a huge following, he's extremely plugged into the industry and such a post would doubtlessly spawn tons and tons of talk (and links) in for the R8. I don't know for sure, but I doubt he lost any clout in terms of his Google standing.


Now if Ferrari were to send a high profile SEO type fellow a new Ferrari for a month in exchange for him blogging about it, would Google drop the hammer? I don't know. Maybe? On one hand, I guess if I'm Audi and I loan a car to somebody with the name recognition of a Guy Kawasaki, then I'm just considering that like a compensated endorsement. We see and hear those on TV and radio every day. Nothing wrong with that, right?

I'm not too sure I am ready to fully come down on either side of this one 100%. I hate to come across as a Google apologist, but at the same time I can't say that Gray and Barone don't raise some fairly compelling arguments. Do I think Google 'has it in' for SEOs? I would have to say no.

If you asked me if I thought Google was maybe a little more... 'leery' of big promotional stunts that came directly from SEOs? Maybe, but as any SEO can tell you, there are no shortage of shady SEOs. Sometimes the good guys get lumped in with the bad guys a little bit in the name of the greater good don't they.... (cough cough) Patriot Act ring any bells?

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Five Crucial Components of Web Design

Professional website developers know the importance of web design and the role it plays in making a website successful.

Designing a successful website is no easy task, especially for someone who is new to the world of web development. With the help of web development applications many people can and do create decent websites. But decent in most cases is not good enough to make a site successful from a traffic or financial standpoint.

There are five crucial components of web design that you must focus on in order to make a site valuable to its visitors and successful for you.

    • SEO -
Getting free traffic to your site. Please click here to get more information on Organic Search Engine Opimization.

    • Usability -
Ease of navigating around the site and finding desired information quickly.
    • Aesthetics -
Visual appeal.

    • Content -
Valid, up-to-date, relevant information.

    • Graphics -
Eye candy that relays relevant visual information to the visitor.

SEO

Before you ever lay down a byte of HTML code for a site, you have to know and understand at least the basics of SEO and how it fits into the design. SEO is the art of designing a site in a fashion that gives the site an advantage for obtaining free and abundant traffic.

The number one aspect of SEO is selecting keywords relevant to your site. The keywords you select should be based on high usage, low competition and relevancy to your topic. Once you select keywords you can then begin the development of your site. Keep in mind keywords are a critical aspect of the design. The keywords you choose will be applied within the design in strategic fashion to benefit the flow of traffic to your site. To understand more on how to implement SEO you should read and learn more about this important subject. If you don't, your website success will be difficult to achieve.

Usability

Your website must be easy to navigate and designed in a way that makes it easy to find information. Visitors will not stay long if it takes more than one or two clicks to get the information they want or if it takes brain power to figure out how to get the information they want. One of the goals of your site design is to keep usability easy, and simple. To do this, apply the following three fundamentals of usability.

    • Provide a site search tool.

A visitor in a hurry can quickly find the info they desire then move on to the action they desire.

    • Provide simple, intuitive and consistent site navigation.

This provides visitors the tool they need to leisurely explore their way through your site.

    • Provide logical and simple to follow content.
The message of a site should start off in a simple and basic fashion with well defined links pointing the way to more detailed information or explanation as needed.

In the cases above, the goal is to make it easy for your visitor to find the information they want without frustration or difficulty. Doing this well will have a positive effect on increasing the return of your visitors.

Aesthetics

A website has to look clean, uncomplicated and strike a balance in layout that is pleasant to the visitor. Pleasing aesthetics come about when the colors of a site complement each other, the graphics blend and lend continuation of the theme and the layout brings unity and openness to the page.

Often overlooked by novice designers is the color palette of the site. While you can select color in a willy-nilly fashion and still provide a visually appealing site, a better idea for color selection should be based on an understanding of the color wheel and proven color strategies.

Many web designers often view a web page as an opportunity to blast a visitor with lots of information in hopes this will convince the visitor to take action. Usually this results in a quick exit due to the overwhelming visual effect and complicated look. A better approach is to provide less content and open space (referred to as white space) to allow visitors eyes to scan and explore with ease.

Content

An important feature of any website is the quality of the text content. Visitors come to a site expecting to find answers to their questions, solutions to their problems or for entertainment value. The content offered at your site must be well-written and without grammatical or spelling errors. It also has to be relevant to the theme of your site, with valid, up-to- date information for your visitors. Content is King!

Graphics

You can have a functional and usable website without graphic elements. However, if there are similar sites to yours that employ graphics, guess which site will get the most traffic. The necessary companions to any well-designed site are the images and illustrations that grace its pages. The images can't be any willy-nilly graphic that you might think is cool. Graphic imagery has to support your branding, and communicate the message you are trying to convey. Before you incorporate graphic elements into your site, take some time to look around the web. Notice what looks good and how elements are laid out. These same layouts techniques can be used as models for your site.

The Internet is a highly competitive business arena. To be successful with a commercial website, you have to keep these five crucial web design elements in mind. Contrary to what many will tell you, it is rarely possible to have commercial success without the benefit of a professional website. This is not to say that you must hire a professional, however you must implement professional design elements to improve your chances for success.

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Annoying Website Design

Have you ever considered that your website may be annoying? When it’s comes to website design, knowing what visitors hate most is a must, unless you don’t want them to visit you again. This article describes what you should exclude from your website. If you know about an annoying website, feel free to send this article to its webmaster.

A few weeks ago I received an email from a colleague asking me to check one of the website he had developed. He is a web designer and his client wanted a nice attractive flash header. The flash header was great. You can’t miss it at all. Some nice graphics elements were flying in while sound effects created just the right atmosphere. However, after starting to explore the website, the header became very annoying because every time you clicked on the website the header restarted. What was pleasant initially became very annoying very quickly, disturbing your concentration and making it difficult to read what was on the page.

He is not the first to create what I like to call – "annoying website design". Many webmasters, especially new webmasters are totally “in love” with their ideas and tend to go overboard with their design in one way or another. It’s nice to have an attractive header, but is it really necessary to assault the visitor’s mind with it? In my opinion, absolutely not!

Webmasters sometimes forget that their website design should send a message to the visitor that should reflect the website topic and not the programmer’s skill level.

Is Your Website Design Annoying?

Well…. It’s not that hard to be annoying. However, some webmasters are much better than others at annoying their visitors. Check my top 5 list and decide for yourself whether you have been annoying your visitors.

Background music – Unless you are operating an online internet radio station or sell music CDs, why play a midi/wav file in the background continuously on every page?
Huge font size – If you are designing a website for people with a disability then you are doing the right thing, but if not then you are shouting. People don’t like it when someone shouts at them.
Small font size – Do you want to be heard? Keep a normal tone, don’t shout but "speak" in a reasonable volume.
Overlapping layers – Layers can be very useful up to the point. But not when they are being used to put an annoying message in the visitor’s face. Don’t try to force your visitor to read your messages. Try persuasion instead of brute force.
Popup windows – Even though popup windows are now blocked by many add on tools, webmasters keep using them. The annoying part of popups is sometimes we actually miss important information because of those anti popup tools. Haven't you heard the old phrase "if you can’t beat him, join him”? Don’t use pop up windows. Put your important messages in a central place on your website.

Most likely each one of us has our own private top five lists. You probably have many more annoying design cases in mind. Well, you’re right, the list is much longer then that. I just wanted to describe some of the highlights in order to bring this important subject your attention.

Some of you are probably reading those lines and smiling while some others have a feeling a deja-vu. Keep in your mind that as a webmaster the last thing you want to do is put lots of effort into your website and then find out that your visitors hate it. It's not a matter of taste, it's more about being the same polite person we all try to be when we go to a party.

I tried to point out a few things that might be useful to some web designers and webmasters. I don’t know about you, but I’m going to send this article to my friend, hopefully he’ll send it to his client :)

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